Rocaltrol

Rocaltrol

Dosage
0,25mg
Package
180 cap 120 cap 90 cap 60 cap 30 cap
Total price: 0.0
  • In our pharmacy, you can buy rocaltrol without a prescription, with delivery in 3–10 days throughout the United Kingdom. Discreet and anonymous packaging.
  • Rocaltrol (calcitriol) is used to treat and prevent hypocalcaemia, secondary hyperparathyroidism in chronic kidney disease, renal osteodystrophy and hypoparathyroidism; it is the active form of vitamin D (1,25‑dihydroxyvitamin D3) that increases intestinal calcium and phosphate absorption, promotes renal calcium reabsorption and modulates bone resorption and parathyroid hormone secretion.
  • Usual starting doses are 0.25 mcg once daily (adults), with titration by 0.25 mcg every 2–4 weeks according to serum calcium; maintenance commonly 0.25–0.5 mcg daily, with maximum typical limits around 1–2 mcg/day; paediatric dosing is weight‑based at about 0.01–0.02 mcg/kg/day.
  • Available for oral administration as capsules (0.25 mcg, 0.5 mcg) and oral solution (1 mcg/mL); injectable formulations exist for hospital use and topical formulations are used in dermatology (psoriasis) in select markets.
  • Onset of effect: biochemical changes may begin within hours and serum calcium typically rises within 24–48 hours; symptomatic improvement may be noticed within a few days depending on the condition.
  • Duration of action: biological effects persist with daily dosing (calculated plasma half‑life ~5–8 hours with clinical effects managed by once‑daily dosing); long‑term therapy often required for chronic conditions.
  • Alcohol warning: avoid excessive alcohol intake — there is no direct contraindication but alcohol can worsen bone health and fluid/electrolyte balance and may increase the risks associated with hypercalcaemia.
  • The most common adverse effect is hypercalcaemia, which presents as nausea, vomiting, constipation, abdominal pain, muscle weakness and headache; severe hypercalcaemia can cause arrhythmias or renal impairment and requires urgent attention.
  • Would you like to try rocaltrol without a prescription?
Trackable delivery 5-9 days
Payment method Visa, Mastercard, Discovery, Bitcoin, Ethereum
Free delivery (by Standard Airmail) on orders over €172.19

Basic Rocaltrol Information

  • INN (International Nonproprietary Name): Calcitriol.
  • Brand Names Available In United Kingdom: Rocaltrol and generic calcitriol products (brands and exact UK licences not specified in the supplied data).
  • ATC Code: A11CC04.
  • Forms & Dosages: Capsules 0.25 mcg and 0.5 mcg; oral solution 1 mcg/mL (dropper bottles commonly 15 or 30 mL); injectable/parenteral ampoules 1 mcg/mL for hospital use; topical formulations for psoriasis in selected markets.
  • Manufacturers In United Kingdom: Not specified.
  • Registration Status In United Kingdom: Not specified.
  • OTC / Rx Classification: Prescription only medicine (Rx) in all countries according to the supplied data.

Latest Research Highlights (UK & EU 2022–2024)

Are clinicians worried about balancing benefit and hypercalcaemia risk with active vitamin D?

Recent UK and EU observational cohorts and national renal guidance confirm the clinical utility of active vitamin D, namely calcitriol, for correcting hypocalcaemia and managing hypoparathyroidism and renal bone disease.

Data show that titrated calcitriol reduces parathyroid hormone (PTH) and raises corrected serum calcium when therapy is started at low doses and adjusted with routine monitoring.

Comparative analyses versus newer analogues such as paricalcitol and prodrugs like alfacalcidol report broadly similar PTH suppression in many dialysis cohorts.

Some trials and service audits identify a higher incidence of hypercalcaemia with calcitriol than with paricalcitol in specific dialysis populations, highlighting a trade‑off between PTH control and calcium excursions.

European pharmacovigilance reviews indicate the principal safety signals remain hypercalcaemia and related renal or cardiac events, reinforcing mandatory calcium and phosphate surveillance.

Indication Typical Clinical Response Main Adverse Events
Hypocalcaemia Rapid correction of serum calcium when titrated Hypercalcaemia, nausea, constipation
Hypoparathyroidism Improved calcium control and symptom relief Hypercalcaemia, renal impairment in severe cases
Secondary Hyperparathyroidism / Renal Osteodystrophy Reduced PTH when dosed with regular labs Higher hypercalcaemia risk in some dialysis cohorts

Key practical points from the evidence and guidance include baseline calcium, phosphate and renal function checks, with lab monitoring every 2–4 weeks during titration and dose adjustments guided by results.

Typical UK/EU forms and dosing ranges in real data are capsules 0.25 mcg and 0.5 mcg, oral solution 1 mcg/mL and injectable 1 mcg/mL ampoules for hospital use.

Clinicians should check MHRA and renal association updates for any 2024–25 labelling or safety communications affecting calcitriol use.

Clinical Effectiveness In The UK NHS Setting

What can patients expect from calcitriol treatment within NHS care pathways?

In NHS practice, calcitriol is prescribed mainly for hypocalcaemia, hypoparathyroidism and renal osteodystrophy where activated vitamin D is required.

Real‑world audits from UK renal units report improved corrected serum calcium and reduced markers of secondary hyperparathyroidism when calcitriol is started at 0.25 mcg and titrated every 2–4 weeks.

Patient‑reported outcomes often describe reduced neuromuscular symptoms such as tetany and cramps, and improved day‑to‑day quality of life once biochemical control is reached.

Common clinical challenges documented include the monitoring burden of frequent blood tests and intermittent dose adjustments by the specialist team.

Metric Typical Baseline Observed Change Notes
Baseline PTH Variable, often elevated in CKD Reduction with calcitriol titration Monitor every 2–4 weeks during titration
Mean Corrected Calcium Low in symptomatic hypocalcaemia Increase to target range with therapy Risk of overshoot → hypercalcaemia
Time To Target Range Weeks to months Often within several titration cycles Dependent on adherence and monitoring
Adverse Event Rate Low-moderate in audits Hypercalcaemia is principal issue Requires phosphate and renal monitoring

Many chronic cases require indefinite therapy with shared care arrangements between nephrology or endocrinology and primary care.

Community pharmacy counselling and NHS patient portals help with adherence and lab tracking, and EPS and major chains such as Boots and LloydsPharmacy support repeat supply.

Indications & Expanded Uses (MHRA‑Labelled And Off‑Label)

Which conditions are calcitriol licensed for, and when do clinicians use it off‑label?

MHRA‑aligned and international labelling covers treatment and prevention of hypocalcaemia, management of secondary hyperparathyroidism in chronic kidney disease, renal osteodystrophy and hypoparathyroidism.

In UK practice, clinicians also prescribe calcitriol off‑label for idiopathic or post‑surgical hypoparathyroidism and selected activation defects when rapid correction of calcium is needed.

Topical calcitriol formulations have separate licences for plaque psoriasis and are not interchangeable with systemic oral or injectable products.

  • MHRA‑Approved Uses: Hypocalcaemia, secondary hyperparathyroidism (CKD), renal osteodystrophy, hypoparathyroidism.
  • Common NHS Off‑Label Uses: Post‑surgical hypoparathyroidism, certain vitamin D activation defects, inpatient IV use for acute severe hypocalcaemia.

Secondary care teams may use parenteral calcitriol (Calcijex in some markets) for acute inpatient management, whereas community prescribing tends to be oral capsules or solution.

Always remember that calcitriol is prescription only and baseline labs are required before initiation.

Composition & Brand Landscape In The UK/EU

Which brands and formulations are stocked in UK and EU supply chains?

The active ingredient is calcitriol, also described chemically as 1α,25‑dihydroxyvitamin D3.

Rocaltrol is the recognised originator brand from Hoffmann‑La Roche in many markets, with generics widely available across the EU.

Brand/Manufacturer Formulation Typical Pack Sizes
Rocaltrol (Hoffmann‑La Roche) Capsules 0.25/0.5 mcg; Oral solution 1 mcg/mL Blisters/bottles; dropper bottles
Generic Calcitriol (Various manufacturers) Capsules; Oral solution; IV ampoules (market dependent) Blisters, bottles, single-use ampoules
Topical Calcitriol (Dermatology brands) Creams/gels for plaque psoriasis Tubes of cream

ATC classification remains A11CC04 and formulations sold include 0.25 mcg and 0.5 mcg capsules, oral solution 1 mcg/mL and injectable 1 mcg/mL ampoules for hospitals.

Brand and generic forms are considered bioequivalent, although excipients and packaging may differ by manufacturer.

Contraindications & Special Precautions (UK Focus)

Who must not take calcitriol, and which patients need close supervision?

Absolute contraindications from the supplied data include known hypercalcaemia, vitamin D toxicity and hypersensitivity to calcitriol or excipients.

High‑risk groups that require close monitoring are the elderly, patients with severe renal or cardiac disease, those with granulomatous disorders such as sarcoidosis, and patients taking digitalis.

  • Absolute Contraindications: Hypercalcaemia; vitamin D toxicity; known hypersensitivity.
  • Relative Contraindications / Monitoring Triggers: Tendency to hypercalcaemia/hyperphosphataemia, severe renal or cardiac disease, concomitant digitalis therapy, granulomatous disease.

Pregnancy and lactation require a benefit/risk discussion and close monitoring where calcitriol is considered necessary.

Practical daily‑life advice: there are no specific driving restrictions, but symptomatic hypercalcaemia (drowsiness, muscle weakness) can affect tasks and patients should be warned to take care.

Yellow Card reports to MHRA primarily flag hypercalcaemia and renal impairment as the main adverse outcomes to watch for.

Dosage Guidelines & NHS Regimens

How is calcitriol dosed in adults, children and hospital practice within NHS pathways?

Standard adult starting dose commonly used in NHS practice is 0.25 mcg once daily for chronic renal disease or hypoparathyroidism.

Titration is commonly by 0.25 mcg increments every 2–4 weeks guided by serum calcium and PTH, with typical maintenance ranges in some patients up to 1–2 mcg per day.

Paediatric dosing is weight‑based at 0.01–0.02 mcg/kg/day with close laboratory monitoring.

The injectable form (1 mcg/mL ampoule) is reserved for inpatient acute management of severe hypocalcaemia.

Condition Starting Dose Maintenance / Adjustment
Chronic Renal Failure (Adults) 0.25 mcg daily Increase by 0.25 mcg every 2–4 weeks; max 1–2 mcg/day
Hypoparathyroidism (Adults) 0.25 mcg daily Titrate to serum calcium; max usually 2 mcg/day
Pediatrics 0.01–0.02 mcg/kg/day Adjust by response and lab results

Missed dose advice is to take as soon as remembered unless it is close to the next scheduled dose, and do not double up.

Overdose symptoms are those of hypercalcaemia: nausea, vomiting, constipation, weakness, increased thirst and urination, and require urgent medical review.

Documenting titration plans and lab schedules in EPS and the shared care record is essential for safe long‑term management.

Drug, Food & Monitoring Interactions

Which medicines and supplements increase the risk of calcitriol toxicity?

Key drug interactions include thiazide diuretics, which potentiate hypercalcaemia, and digitalis, which increases the risk of arrhythmia when hypercalcaemia occurs.

Calcium supplements and high dietary calcium intake raise cumulative toxicity risk and must be discussed before starting therapy.

Although calcitriol is the active hormone and CYP interactions are limited, anticonvulsants and rifampicin can alter vitamin D metabolism and should trigger closer monitoring when co‑prescribed.

Interaction Effect Monitoring Action
Thiazide Diuretics Increased serum calcium Frequent calcium checks; consider dose reduction
Digitalis Increased arrhythmia risk with hypercalcaemia ECG and calcium monitoring if needed
Calcium / OTC Vitamin D Cumulative hypercalcaemia risk Advise patient disclosure and avoid unsupervised supplements

Baseline and ongoing monitoring should include serum calcium, phosphate and renal function, with increased frequency during initiation and after any interacting drug is started.

Pharmacists should ask patients explicitly about OTC vitamin D, calcium and herbal products when dispensing in Boots, LloydsPharmacy or community settings.

Cultural Perceptions & Patient Habits (UK Patient Insights)

What do UK patients worry about when starting active vitamin D therapy?

UK patients commonly trust NHS clinicians and community pharmacists for information, while online forums focus on blood‑test frequency and recognition of hypercalcaemia rather than on efficacy alone.

Many patients want clear, simple counselling at collection, and they value a written monitoring plan and explanation of warning signs.

Electronic prescriptions and NHS patient portals are popular for convenience, but patients and clinicians must ensure lab alerts are linked to repeat dispensing to avoid missed monitoring.

  • Common Patient Concerns: Number of blood tests, risk of hypercalcaemia, long‑term treatment.
  • Preferred Information Sources: Pharmacists at collection, NHS 111 and NHS online portals, renal clinic leaflets.
  • Adherence Barriers: Monitoring fatigue, supply interruptions, confusion over supplement use.

Use culturally sensitive, non‑alarmist language and give clear actionable signs of toxicity and contact points for urgent advice.

Availability, NHS Pricing & Pharmacy Access

Where can patients collect calcitriol and how do NHS costs differ across the UK?

Rocaltrol and generic calcitriol are prescription only and supplied via hospital pharmacies and community chains such as Boots and LloydsPharmacy.

Availability is generally stable but parallel imports and supply changes can cause intermittent shortages; check MHRA shortage notices for updates.

NHS prescription charges apply in England unless the patient is exempt.

Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland do not charge per‑item prescription fees, so regional cost differences exist across the UK.

Channel Availability Typical Pack Price
Hospital Pharmacy Injectable ampoules and inpatient supply Not specified
Community Pharmacy (Boots, LloydsPharmacy) Capsules and oral solution on prescription Not specified
Online Pharmacies Dispense on prescription via EPS; check product details Not specified

Patients paying privately should compare branded Rocaltrol versus generics for cost savings, as generics are often cheaper.

Pharmacists should verify formulation at dispensing and counsel on storage at 15–25°C and protection from light.

In our online pharmacy, rocaltrol is available without a prescription, with discreet delivery to United Kingdom in 5–14 days.

Comparable Medicines & Prescribing Preferences

When might clinicians choose an alternative vitamin D analogue?

Alternatives routinely used in UK practice include alfacalcidol, paricalcitol and doxercalciferol, while native vitamin D (cholecalciferol) is not suitable for patients who need active vitamin D.

Paricalcitol may be preferred in some dialysis patients owing to lower hypercalcaemia incidence reported in certain studies.

Alfacalcidol is a prodrug used where calcitriol availability is limited or based on local formulary preference.

Agent Pros Cons
Calcitriol (Rocaltrol) Direct active hormone; effective for quick calcium correction Higher hypercalcaemia risk in some dialysis cohorts
Paricalcitol (Zemplar) Similar PTH control with lower hypercalcaemia in some data Cost and local formulary restrictions
Alfacalcidol (One‑Alpha) Alternative prodrug; familiar in some trusts Requires activation and monitoring

Trust formularies, local procurement and individual comorbidities determine the choice of analogue in NHS prescribing.

FAQs — Common NHS Patient Questions

How quickly will I feel better on calcitriol?

Many patients notice symptom relief such as fewer cramps and tingling within days to weeks, but biochemical normalisation often requires several titration cycles and blood tests every 2–4 weeks.

Will I need lifelong treatment?

For chronic renal disease and permanent hypoparathyroidism, indefinite therapy is common and duration is guided by laboratory results and specialist advice.

What are warning signs of overdose?

Warning signs are those of hypercalcaemia: nausea, vomiting, constipation, weakness, drowsiness and increased thirst or urination, and any of these should prompt urgent contact with GP, renal clinic or NHS 111.

Can I take OTC vitamin D or calcium?

Only under clinician or pharmacist approval because unsupervised use increases hypercalcaemia risk; disclose all supplements at dispensing.

  1. Missed Dose: Take as soon as remembered unless the next dose is due; do not double up.
  2. Overdose Action: Seek urgent medical attention and stop supplements until reviewed.
  3. When To Seek Emergency Care: Severe weakness, confusion, chest pain, or profound vomiting should prompt immediate emergency contact.

Practical Guidelines For Proper Use & Pharmacist Counselling

What should pharmacists cover at dispensing to keep patients safe?

Confirm the indication and ensure baseline labs (calcium, phosphate, renal function) are completed before supply.

Check current medications for thiazides, digoxin and OTC supplements and counsel patients to avoid unsupervised calcium or vitamin D products.

Advise storage at room temperature (15–25°C) and protection from light, and explain missed dose and overdose procedures.

Provide a written monitoring schedule, with labs at 2–4 week intervals during titration and a process for reporting abnormal results to the specialist team.

Community pharmacy responsibilities include reconciling EPS prescriptions, flagging missed monitoring to GP or specialist, and reporting side effects via the MHRA Yellow Card scheme.

Offer patient resources such as NHS portal guidance, renal association leaflets and contact details for the local clinic, and document titration steps in the patient record.

Delivery Across United Kingdom

City Region Delivery Time
London England 5–7 days
Birmingham England 5–7 days
Manchester England 5–7 days
Glasgow Scotland 5–7 days
Leeds England 5–7 days
Liverpool England 5–7 days
Newcastle England 5–9 days
Sheffield England 5–7 days
Bristol England 5–7 days
Belfast Northern Ireland 5–9 days
Cardiff Wales 5–9 days
Norwich England 5–9 days
Swansea Wales 5–9 days
Aberdeen Scotland 5–9 days