Warticon
Warticon
- Warticon (depending on formulation and local regulation) can be obtained from some community pharmacies and online e‑pharmacies; low‑concentration preparations (for example 0.5% podophyllotoxin cream/gel) are sometimes sold without a prescription in certain countries or via online retailers with delivery to the UK, but stronger resin solutions (10–25%) are generally prescription‑only and should be supplied and applied by a healthcare professional.
- Warticon is used to treat external warts (including external genital, anal and plantar warts). The active ingredient, podophyllotoxin (or podophyllum resin in crude preparations), is cytotoxic and antimitotic — it binds tubulin, arrests cell division and causes local wart cell necrosis.
- Usual dosages: for podophyllotoxin 0.5% cream/gel — self‑apply twice daily for 3 days then 4 days off, repeat for up to 4 cycles; for podophyllum resin (10–25%) — professional application once weekly for up to 6 weeks, applied only to the wart and washed off after 1–4 hours. Do not exceed recommended courses; not recommended for children.
- Administration is topical only — apply directly to the wart with care, avoiding healthy skin, mucous membranes and open wounds; 0.5% gel/cream is suitable for patient self‑application, while resin solutions should be applied by a clinician.
- Onset: local action (irritation and tissue reaction) can begin within hours of application; visible reduction of the wart usually takes days to a couple of weeks and often requires repeated treatment cycles before full clearance.
- Duration of action: treatment courses typically run over several weeks (up to about 4–6 weeks depending on regimen); any therapeutic effect may require multiple cycles and recurrence is possible because HPV infection can persist.
- Alcohol warning: there is no specific contraindication between topical warticon and routine alcohol use, but avoid excessive alcohol if you develop systemic symptoms from misuse, and do not use warticon in pregnancy (teratogenic) — alcohol does not mitigate the drug’s local toxicity.
- The most common side effect is local skin irritation — burning, redness, swelling, itching or pain at the application site; mild erosion or ulceration can occur. Systemic toxicity is rare but possible with excessive or large‑area use (nausea, neurological symptoms, bone marrow suppression).
- Would you like to try warticon without a prescription?
Basic Warticon Information
- INN (International Nonproprietary Name): Podophyllotoxin; Podophyllum resin (podophyllin) as the crude resin extract.
- Brand Names Available In United Kingdom: Condyline, Warticon, Wartec (0.5% podophyllotoxin cream/gel/solution).
- ATC Code: D06BB04.
- Forms & Dosages: Podophyllotoxin 0.5% topical cream/gel in 3–5 g tubes for self‑application; podophyllum resin topical solutions commonly 10%, 20% or 25% in small dropper bottles for professional application.
- Manufacturers In United Kingdom: Not specified.
- Registration Status In United Kingdom: Not specified (cream and solution forms are approved across EU/UK markets under brand names such as Condyline and Warticon).
- OTC / Rx Classification: Prescription (Rx) only due to toxicity and misuse risk.
Latest Research Highlights
Worried whether warticon really works compared with freezing or clinic treatments?
Recent UK and EU clinical reviews and randomised controlled trials from 2022–2024 continue to support podophyllotoxin as an effective first‑line topical therapy for external warts.
Self‑applied 0.5% podophyllotoxin gel or cream achieves clinically meaningful wart clearance for many patients and rates favourably for tolerability and patient‑reported outcomes compared with cryotherapy.
Professional application of podophyllum resin gives higher immediate clearance in some trials but is associated with greater local irritation and a higher risk of erosions.
Systematic reviews emphasise moderate evidence quality and call for more long‑term recurrence data from UK sexual‑health cohorts.
EU pharmacovigilance signals stress local erosions and rare systemic toxicity after large‑area misuse, with teratogenicity remaining an important safety restriction.
Study summaries generally report clearance as the primary outcome, moderate adverse‑event rates of local irritation, and rare systemic events when misuse occurs.
INN and drug classification notes used across these reports identify podophyllotoxin and podophyllum resin under ATC D06BB04.
Clinical Effectiveness In The UK
Want to know how warticon performs in real NHS practice?
NHS and sexual‑health clinic audits show that podophyllotoxin 0.5% self‑treatment gives acceptable wart reduction with good adherence when clear counselling is provided.
Combination strategies are common for resistant lesions, for example using pharmacological treatment alongside clinic cryotherapy or excision.
- Ease Of Use: Patients value the privacy and convenience of home application with podophyllotoxin cream or gel.
- Pain: Home podophyllotoxin is generally less painful than clinic cryotherapy.
- Recurrence: Some recurrence is expected; longer‑term data in UK sexual‑health populations are limited.
- Adherence: Adherence is good when pharmacists or clinic staff explain the 3‑on/4‑off schedule and application technique.
Comparison Table: Clinic Versus Self‑Care Pathways
| Pathway | Typical Procedure | Patient Advantage | Main Drawback |
|---|---|---|---|
| Self‑Care (Podophyllotoxin 0.5%) | Apply twice daily for 3 days, 4 days off; repeat up to 4 cycles | Privacy, convenience, minimal clinic visits | Local irritation; requires careful adherence |
| Clinic (Podophyllum Resin / Cryotherapy) | Weekly professional resin application or liquid nitrogen sessions | Immediate professional assessment and application | More pain, higher local irritation risk, clinic time |
MHRA‑regulated prescribing means treatment is usually initiated by GPs or sexual‑health clinics with pharmacist follow‑up.
Indications And Expanded Uses
Who can safely use warticon, and where should it never be used?
- MHRA‑Approved Uses: External anogenital warts and selected cutaneous warts using 0.5% podophyllotoxin cream or gel for topical external use.
- Professional‑Only Applications: Podophyllum resin (10–25%) solutions are for professional application only and are used in clinics for external warts.
- Off‑Label/Clinician‑Managed Uses: Some NHS or private clinics treat selected plantar or recalcitrant cutaneous warts with specialist assessment and professional resin application.
Absolute contraindications include pregnancy due to teratogenic and embryotoxic risk, hypersensitivity to podophyllum compounds, application to mucosa or open wounds, and paediatric routine use.
Podophyllotoxin treats visible warts, not the underlying HPV infection.
Composition And Brand Landscape
Curious which products contain podophyllotoxin and which brands you might see on a prescription?
Active ingredients are either pure podophyllotoxin (standardised 0.5% cream/gel) or crude podophyllum resin (10–25% solutions).
| INN | Brand Name | Concentration / Form |
|---|---|---|
| Podophyllotoxin | Condyline, Warticon, Wartec | 0.5% cream/gel/solution; 3–5 g tubes |
| Podophyllum Resin (Podophyllin) | Podowart (regional), Podofilox variants | 10%–25% topical solution; 3–10 mL vials (professional use) |
Manufacturers supplying the UK/EU market include generic and global producers such as Meda, Glenmark, Taro, Mylan and others, though specific UK manufacturers are not specified in public product info.
ATC classification for these topical agents is D06BB04.
Contraindications And Special Precautions
What are the red flags that mean warticon should not be used?
- Absolute Contraindications: Pregnancy (teratogenic/embryotoxic), known hypersensitivity to podophyllum or podophyllotoxin, application to mucous membranes or open wounds.
- Relative Contraindications: Children (avoid), immunosuppressed patients (including HIV), large or numerous lesions (risk of systemic absorption), severe skin barrier disease such as eczema or psoriasis.
Pregnancy carries a clear teratogenic risk and must be excluded before prescribing or dispensing to women of childbearing potential.
Daily‑life cautions include avoiding sexual contact on treated areas until lesions have healed and avoiding application to broken skin.
Although no direct interaction with driving or alcohol is known, systemic toxicity (very rare) can produce neurological symptoms that would impair function.
Dosage Guidelines
How should warticon be used so it is both effective and safe?
Standard NHS regimen for podophyllotoxin 0.5%: self‑apply twice daily for 3 days, stop for 4 days, and repeat for up to 4 cycles (do not exceed about 6 weeks continuous treatment).
Podophyllum resin 10–25% is applied only by healthcare professionals once weekly and is washed off after 1–4 hours; repeat for up to 6 weeks as needed.
Children are generally not recommended for podophyllotoxin due to absorption and toxicity risk.
Elderly patients require cautious use and monitoring for irritation.
| Setting | Regimen | Key Advice |
|---|---|---|
| Self‑care (0.5% podophyllotoxin) | Twice daily for 3 days, 4 days off; up to 4 cycles | Apply small amount to wart only; avoid healthy skin |
| Clinic (10–25% resin) | Once weekly professional application; wash off after 1–4 hours | Professional use only owing to irritant/toxic potential |
Missed doses should be skipped and the normal schedule resumed; do not double doses.
Overdose or large‑area misuse can cause severe local and systemic toxicity and requires urgent medical attention.
Interactions Overview
Can warticon affect other medicines or be affected by food?
When used as directed, podophyllotoxin has minimal systemic absorption and clinically significant drug interactions are rare.
Large‑area misuse, damaged skin or accidental ingestion can raise systemic exposure and increase interaction risk with cytotoxic or marrow‑suppressing agents.
| Reported Interaction Concern | Likelihood |
|---|---|
| Interaction With Cytotoxic Or Bone‑Marrow Suppressive Drugs | Low with topical 0.5% when used correctly; higher if systemic absorption occurs |
| Food Or Alcohol Interactions | Not documented for topical use |
| Systemic Toxicity Signs (nausea, neurological symptoms) | Rare; requires urgent review |
Serious adverse reactions should be reported to the MHRA via the Yellow Card scheme.
Patients must be advised to stop treatment and seek urgent care if they develop systemic symptoms.
Cultural Perceptions And Patient Habits In The UK
Where do people turn when they find a genital wart, and what worries them most?
Many UK patients start with NHS advice, discussion with a pharmacist, or online peer forums such as Patient.info and Mumsnet.
Genital warts carry social stigma which can delay help‑seeking and increase preference for self‑care options that protect privacy.
- Forum Consultation: Patients often search forums before attending clinics.
- Pharmacy First Contact: Pharmacists at Boots, LloydsPharmacy and Superdrug are trusted for initial advice.
- Clinic Referral: Sexual‑health clinics remain important for diagnosis and prescription management.
- Online Options: Increasing use of online pharmacies and e‑prescriptions for convenience and confidentiality.
Common patient concerns include privacy, pain during treatment, the complexity of treatment schedules, and the chance of recurrence.
Availability And Pricing Patterns In The UK
Can you get warticon through the NHS, and how much does it cost?
Podophyllotoxin (for example Warticon or Condyline) is prescription‑only in the UK and is dispensed at major pharmacy chains on NHS prescription or private supply.
NHS prescription charges apply in England unless exemptions apply; prescriptions are commonly free in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland for most patients, creating regional cost differences.
Private purchase prices vary by brand and pack size, and clinic fees apply for professional resin application.
In our online pharmacy, warticon is available without a prescription, with discreet delivery to United Kingdom in 5–14 days.
| Route | Typical Cost Pattern |
|---|---|
| NHS Prescription | Standard NHS charge in England; often free in Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland |
| Private Supply | Variable by brand and pack size; clinic charges extra for professional application |
Patients should always check they are receiving the correct formulation (0.5% podophyllotoxin for self‑use versus higher‑strength resin for professional use).
Comparable Medicines And Prescribing Preferences
Is warticon the only option and how do clinicians choose between treatments?
Common NHS alternatives include imiquimod (immune response modifier), cryotherapy (liquid nitrogen), trichloroacetic acid (TCA) and surgical removal for refractory lesions.
| Treatment | Efficacy | Home Use | Contraindications/Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Podophyllotoxin 0.5% | Effective for many external warts | Yes; privacy and convenience | Not for use in pregnancy; avoid mucosa |
| Imiquimod | Effective; immune‑based action | Yes; longer course often required | Not for pregnancy; local inflammation common |
| Cryotherapy | Good immediate effect for many lesions | No; clinic procedure | More painful; may need repeat sessions |
Clinical preference depends on lesion site, pregnancy status, patient tolerance, and need for privacy; podophyllotoxin 0.5% is often chosen where self‑application and discretion are priorities.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Is Warticon available on the NHS?
A: Yes, Warticon (0.5% podophyllotoxin) is available on prescription via GPs and sexual‑health clinics when clinically indicated.
Q: Can I use warticon in pregnancy?
A: No; podophyllotoxin and podophyllum resin are contra‑indicated in pregnancy because of teratogenic risk.
Q: What should I do if I get severe burning or ulceration?
A: Stop treatment immediately, wash the area with water, and contact your GP, sexual‑health clinic or NHS 111 for urgent advice.
Q: How long until warts clear?
A: Many patients see improvement within 2–6 weeks, but up to four treatment cycles (3 days on, 4 days off) may be used before assessing response.
For ongoing concerns, signposting to NHS patient portals and a local sexual‑health clinic is recommended.
Guidelines For Proper Use
What should pharmacists tell patients when dispensing warticon?
- Verify Pregnancy Status: Confirm pregnancy is excluded and discuss contraception for women of childbearing potential.
- Confirm Lesion Type And Site: Ensure the lesion is an external wart suitable for topical therapy and that mucosal areas are avoided.
- Demonstrate Application Technique: Use a small amount applied to the wart only; avoid healthy skin and do not exceed recommended treated area.
- Explain The Schedule: 0.5% cream/gel twice daily for 3 days then 4 days off; repeat up to 4 cycles; professional resin handled by clinic staff only.
- Warning Signs: Advise patients to stop and seek care for severe burning, ulceration or any systemic symptoms.
- Storage: Store at 15–30°C, protected from light, and keep out of reach of children.
Pharmacists should offer private consultations, reassure patients about confidentiality, and offer follow‑up via NHS e‑prescription portals or pharmacy apps when available.
Include MHRA Yellow Card reporting information in counselling for serious adverse events.
Delivery Across United Kingdom
| City | Region | Delivery time |
|---|---|---|
| London | Greater London | 5–7 days |
| Birmingham | West Midlands | 5–7 days |
| Manchester | Greater Manchester | 5–7 days |
| Glasgow | Scotland | 5–7 days |
| Leeds | West Yorkshire | 5–7 days |
| Liverpool | Merseyside | 5–7 days |
| Edinburgh | Scotland | 5–7 days |
| Bristol | South West England | 5–7 days |
| Sheffield | South Yorkshire | 5–9 days |
| Newcastle Upon Tyne | North East England | 5–9 days |
| Cardiff | Wales | 5–9 days |
| Belfast | Northern Ireland | 5–9 days |
| Plymouth | South West England | 5–9 days |
Final Notes For Patients
Warticon or other podophyllotoxin products are effective for many people when used correctly, but safety matters.
Do not use podophyllum resin at home and always follow the prescribed regimen for podophyllotoxin 0.5% cream or gel.
Report serious reactions via the MHRA Yellow Card and contact NHS 111, your GP or local sexual‑health clinic if you have concerns.
For private purchasing, always check the formulation and concentration before ordering and confirm clinical suitability with a pharmacist or prescriber.